Yogyakarta History

In the years 1568 - 1586 a kingdom existed in central Java called Pajang Kingdom. It was led by Sultan Hadiwijaya, known well as Jaka Tingkir. At a time Jaka Tingkir became in conflict with Arya Penangsang (one of the governors for Jipang Kingdom). At that time, Jaka Tingkir won, helped by Ki Ageng Pemanahan and his son, Bagus Sutawijaya, also known as Ngabehi Loring Pasar.

Ki Ageng Pemanahan and his son were granted an area called Bumi Mentaok. This area then became a land free of taxes. Subesequently Bagus Sutawijaya built a kingdom there, called Mataram Kingdom and announced himself as the king with the title Panembahan Senopati. In the 18th century, this kingdom was ruled by Sunan Paku Buwono II.

After he died, there was a conflict between his two sons. This conflict started because of provocations of the Dutch. The conflict was finally settled by Giyanti Agreement in 1755. The agreement stated that the kingdom would be divided into two, Kasunanan Surakarta Hadiningrat and Kasultanan Ngayogya karto Hadiningrat. As it was used to be, Pangeran Mangkubumi, Sri Sunan Paku Buwono II little brother, was granted title as The King of Ngayogyakarto Hadiningrat and called as Sultan Hamengku Buwono I. This Ngayogyakarto Hadiningrat becomes Yogyakarta now.

Yogyakarta is the second oldest province after East Java and is called Daerah Istimewa (DKI stands for Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta: Yogyakarta Special Region). This status was set with the Independence Proclamation of Indonesia. On September 5th, 1945 Sultan Hamengku Buwono IX stated in "œAmanat 5 September 1945" that the Monarchy of Yogyakarta would be integrated in the Republic of Indonesia.

That concludes our little history about Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta. A place with lots of culture, arts, tourist spots and history, a recommended place to come and see.

Read our Yogyakarta Travel Guide

Most popular

Cities close by

Yogyakarta Hotels on Utiket

Need place to stay in Yogyakarta?